Ryan Adams releases “Ashes & Fire”

Adorable-if-you-squint Ryan Adams releases his 13th – 13th! – studio album today, titled “Ashes & Fire.”  The album is already widely being called his best work in years.  Ryan says of the title: “”I wanted it to sound hot, as in temperature-wise, windows-rolled-down, middle-of-summmer, driving-through-California, hot. In all honesty, it was the right title. […] I was trying to paint this picture of somebody not destroyed by change.”  Change seems to be on Adams’ mind, with lyrics like “I don’t remember were we wild and young, all that faded into memory I feel like somebody I don’t know. Are we really who we used to be, am I really who I was?” (Lucky Now) and”I was lost, I was lost, tried to find the balance, got caught up in the cost. Let it go, when I met you, all the clouds parted, all that light came shining through” (I Love You But I Don’t Know What To Say”).  Sounds like that marriage to Mandy Moore is working out, huh?  Oh well.

Track Listing:

1. Dirty Rain

2. Ashes & Fire

3. Come Home

4. Rocks

5. Do I Wait

6.  Chains of Love

7. Invisible Riverside

8. Save Me

9. Kindness

10. Lucky Now

11. I Love You But I Don’t Know What To Say

Check the album out on iTunes and Amazon.

Leave a Reply

