John Mayer put on vocal rest, continues saying words

John Mayer took to his tumblr to give fans an update on his recent vocal problems and album delay:

“I had surgery this afternoon to remove it and am now on complete vocal rest for a month or more. It’s been a very long process in waiting to see if time was an alternative to surgery, but even given two weeks’ voice rest (along with many other approaches), there was no change for the better.

I should be frustrated but I can’t seem to stop thinking about beautiful things… I never thought I’d be wishing I could do what I love again; I stay in at night, picking guitar parts off of records and dreaming of playing on the big stage. The only difference between now and when I was 18 is that now I have this beautiful, meaningful record waiting for me when I can sing it.”

I’m a huge John Mayer fan and can’t wait to hear the new album, tentatively titled “Born and Raised.”  But if there’s anything more exciting than a new set of songs about John’s inability to love fully, it’s the anticipation of finding out if John’s… current “look” will make it on to the next tour.  Remember when John looked like this?

Sigh.

Leave a Reply

